Filmography: _Documentary: _Let it Come Down: _On Jane Bowles

Let it Come Down:
The Life of Paul Bowles

> Film Info

Feature Documentary



72 minutes

> Distributors

Mongrel Media [Can.]

Zeitgeist Films [USA]

Jane Bowles was born Jane Sidney Auer in New York City in 1917. She has been called "one of the finest writers of modern fiction in any language" by John Ashbery.

An habituée of Lesbian and Bohemian circles in New York in the late 1930's, she met Paul Bowles in 1937. They were married the following year. Her first novel, Two Serious Ladies, was written in 1941 and was described as "a landmark in twentieth century American literature." It was not, however, a commercial success and Jane, who once said that "it was simply not enough to write for 500 of one's goony friends," found it increasingly difficult to work.

When the Bowles moved to Tangier permanently, Jane fell in love with Moroccan peasant woman. Over the years, Cherifa became an increasingly powerful and destructive presence in Jane's life. Suffering from alcoholism and manic depression, she had a severe and debilitating stroke in 1957, and spent the next sixteen years in and out of hospital. She died in 1973, in Malaga, Spain.

Two Serious Ladies (a novel), 1943
In the Summer House (play), 1954
Plain Pleasures (stories), 1966
Feminine Wiles (stories), 1976
My Sister's Hand in Mine: The Collected Works of Jane Bowles, 1978